National Fish & Chip Awards - Full List of Winners

March 1, 2020

Full list of winners are as follows:


Fish and Chip Shop of the Year Award: 

The Cod’s Scallops, Wollaton, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire


Best Fish and Chip Restaurant Award: 

Trenchers Restaurant, Spanish City, Whitley Bay


Best Newcomer Award: 

Lewis’s Fish & Grill, Maidstone, Kent


NFFF Quality Award Champion: 

The Real Food Café, Tydrum, Stirlingshire


Best Seafood Week Campaign Award: 

Penaluna’s Famous Fish & Chips, Hirwaun, Aberdare 


Best Foodservice Operator Award: 

Mary Lambert Artisan Bakery, Hartlepool, County Durham


Menu Development and Innovation Award: 

Fish City Belfast, Belfast


Marketing Innovation Award: 

Shap Chippy, Shap, Penrith


From Field to Frier Award: 

Fish & Chips @ Weston Grove, Upton, Chester 


Good Catch Award: 

Fish & Chips @ Weston Grove, Upton, Chester


Staff Training and Development Award: 

The Wetherby Whaler, Yorkshire 


Drywite Young Fish Frier of the Year:  

Charlie Collins, Frydales, Leicester, Leicestershire  


Best Mobile Operator Award: 

The English Indian, Lichfield, Staffordshire


Best Multiple Operator Award: 

Sutton & Sons, London


Seasonal UK Seafood Award: 

Something Else Fishy, Milborne Port, Sherborne


Outstanding Achievement Award: 

Richard Ord, Colmans of South Shields, Tyne and Wear


About The National Fish & Chip Awards 

Celebrating 32 years of success, The National Fish & Chip Awards have continuously grown in scale and stature since their formation in 1988, and are now recognised as one of the most prominent and respected seafood industry events in the UK.

They celebrate the British tradition of fish and chips, showcasing the best talent, quality and choice offered by fish and chip businesses through 16 different award categories.

The flagship Fish and Chip Shop of the Year Award is one of the highest industry honours to receive as a fish and chip business and previous winners have gone on to great success, with many winners reporting sales increases of up to 100%.



Sponsors of the Fish and Chip Shop of the Year category are AAK, Elite Shopfitters, Florigo, Friars Pride, Henry Colbeck, Henry Jones, J F K, National Federation of Fish Friers (NFFF), Norwegian Seafood Council, P&G Professional, VA Whitley.

Other Category Award sponsors include: Drywite, Frymax, Goldensheaf, Isle of Ely Produce, James T Blakeman & Son, JJ Foodservice, Marine Conservation Society, Marine Stewardship Council, Middleton Food Products, Pukka, Scottish Seafood Association, Scottish White Fish Processors Association and the Seafood Training Academy.

Supporters of the Awards include, Enjoy Fish & Chips, Frozen At Sea Fillets Association (FASFA), HGEM Mystery Dining, Keejays, National Edible Oil Distributors’ Association (NEODA), Responsible Fishing Scheme (RFS), Russum’s, Seafood Week, and The Fishermen’s Mission.


Sponsorship opportunities are available for the 2021 awards. Please contact: Nikki Hawkins, Trade Events Manager, Seafish on



Please reload

Recent Posts

Please reload

Stay Up-To-Date with New Posts

Search By Tags

Please reload